You are here

You Asked for Perfect (Paperback)

You Asked for Perfect Cover Image
$11.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


"Wise‚ romantic‚ and painfully relatable."—Becky Albertalli, New York Times bestselling author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

From acclaimed author Laura Silverman comes a timely novel about a bisexual teen's struggle when academic success and romantic happiness pull him in opposite directions, perfect for fans of Adam Silvera and Tamara Ireland Stone.

Ariel Stone has spent his life cultivating the perfect college résumé: first chair violinist, dedicated volunteer, active synagogue congregant, and expected valedictorian. He barely has time to think about a social life, let alone a relationship...until a failed calculus quiz puts his future on the line, forcing Ariel to enlist his classmate, Amir, as a tutor.

As the two spend more time together, Ariel discovers he may not like calculus, but he does like Amir. When he's with Amir, the crushing academic pressure fades away on, and a fuller and brighter world comes into focus. But college deadlines are still looming. And adding a new relationship to his long list of commitments may just push Ariel past his limit.

In a time where academic pressure on stressed teens couldn't be higher, You Asked for Perfect is a story full of empathy, honesty and heart for anyone who has ever questioned the price of perfection.

The perfect present for readers who want:
  • Books featuring anxiety for teens
  • Queer romance
  • Gay young adult fiction
  • Jewish representation
  • Praise for You Asked for Perfect:
    An ALA Rainbow List Pick
    2019 Books All Georgians Should Read List
    2020 Georgia Author of the Year Awards Nominee
    Chicago Public Library's Best Fiction for Older Readers List
    "Who can resist a heartfelt romance?"—Booklist
    "Silverman's novel hit me straight in the heart... It was powerful enough to make me want to be a better—yet still imperfect—person."—Bill Konigsberg, author of The Music of What Happens
    "A coming-of-age novel that will charm readers with its relatable and diverse characters, quirky storyline, and interweaving of faith, queerness, and the everyday lives of seniors navigating the pressures of college applications, grades, and relationships. Heartwarming and engaging."—Kirkus

    About the Author


    Laura Silverman is a writer and editor. She loves books, dogs, and bubble baths. She currently lives in Brooklyn, NY. You can follow her on Twitter @LJSilverman1.

    Praise For…


    "Appealing... who can resist a heartfelt romance?" - Booklist

    "A coming-of-age novel that will charm readers with its relatable and diverse characters, quirky storyline, and interweaving of faith, queerness, and the everyday lives of seniors navigating the pressures of college applications, grades, and relationships. Heartwarming and engaging." - Kirkus Reviews
    Product Details
    ISBN: 9781492658276
    ISBN-10: 1492658278
    Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
    Publication Date: March 5th, 2019
    Pages: 288
    Language: English